HOW TO DELETE ALBUMS ON IPHONE – FULL GUIDE

How to Delete Albums on iPhone

iPhone has an edge when it comes to camera quality, its high-quality camera captures really good photos, but its camera should not alone take the credit for images as apple’s photos app works in sync with its camera to store those high-resolution snaps. Apple’s iPhone comes with a variety of useful features, one of them is its photos app.

In all the updates on the iPhone, the company has made many changes in its software but one app that just can’t be replaced is its photos app. Photos app is used to store and maintain the images of the user, you can also create albums for different types of photos like you can create an album named ‘pet’ with all your pet’s images in it, it is just an effective way to manage photos.

But what if you want to delete an album on an iPhone, well that can be tricky. So, how to delete an album on iPhone?

In this blog post, I will give you a detailed guide on the following

1. How to delete albums on iPhone
2. How to delete iPhone albums synced from iTunes.
3. how to recover deleted albums on iPhone.
4. Why are there albums I didn’t create on my iPhone?
5. Benefits of deleting albums on an iPhone.
6. Why are there some albums on iPhone that can’t be deleted?

Let’s first start with how to delete albums on I phone

HOW TO DELETE ALBUMS ON IPHONE

Deleting albums on iPhone may seem tricky but, don’t worry it is tricky just to look at, otherwise, it is a piece of cake. Just follow these steps.

STEP 1: Tap on the Photos app icon on the screen.

STEP 2: Select albums present at the bottom of the screen.

STEP 3: Tap on the “see all” button. You will be taken to the “my albums” screen which contains all the photos albums you have made.

STEP 4: Tap on the “edit” button, a minus sign encircled in red will appear on the upper left corner of the albums that you can delete.

STEP 5: Tap on that minus sign to delete that particular album.

STEP 6: A message will pop up asking for your confirmation for the deleting process. If you want to continue with deleting tap on ‘delete album’.

That was how to delete an album.

While asking for confirmation for deleting process your iPhone will display a message saying “ are you sure you want to delete the album? the photos will not be deleted“. This means that you are just deleting the album not the photos in it, the photos will continue to exist in their original location.

But why are photos not deleted?

when you move a photo in an album you are just copying that photo in that album, you are not actually moving the original photo. You are just copying the ‘graphic shortcut’ of that photo. The original photo is still in its original location.

That’s why the photos in an album are not deleted along with the album.

If you want to delete that photo you have to delete it directly from its original location.

You May Like Also: HOW TO SEND PICTURES ON TINDER

HOW TO DELETE ALBUMS SYNCED WITH ITUNES

To delete albums synced with iTunes first you need to connect your iPhone to your computer using a cable. Then follow the following steps.

STEP 1: Open iTunes on your computer and click on the iPhone icon resent on the upper left corner of iTunes then click on “photos”.

STEP 2: Now you can select or deselect albums. Remember that the albums that you will deselect will be deleted from your iPhone.

STEP 3: Now to wrap it up, you need to sync to your iPhone. you can do it by clicking the ‘apply’ button present on the bottom right corner of the screen. Now you have synced your iPhone with iTunes.

STEP 4: Now click ‘done’ present on the bottom right corner of the screen.

And you are done, this is how you can delete albums synced from iTunes.

HOW TO RECOVER DELETED ALBUMS ON IPHONE

Sometimes you accidentally delete an album, what now? is it gone forever? well no, thankfully you can recover your deleted album within 30 days. But you cannot recover the whole album you can only recover pictures in it, they will be recovered either one by one or all at once.

Open your photos app and follow these steps to recover them.

STEP 1: Tap on ‘albums’ present at the bottom of the screen.

STEP 2: Select “recently deleted”

STEP 3: Then you can either recover all at once by tapping on “recover all” or you can handpick those you want to recover.

STEP 4: Tap ‘ recover’ to confirm your selection and your photos will be recovered

Read Also: HOW TO ENABLE GOOGLE CHROME FLAGS

Why are there albums I didn’t create on my iPhone?

This problem comes with many iPhone users, all the albums that you didn’t create are actually created by some apps like Instagram, WhatsApp, etc. They create a separate album to contain photos that you shared or received through them.

There is also a screenshot album that contains all the screenshots you took. So that is why there are some albums on your phone that you didn’t create.

BENEFITS OF DELETING ALBUMS ON IPHONE

There is only one benefit to deleting unwanted albums and that is that it frees up space for more photos. No one wants their gallery to be filled with unwanted photos.

By deleting photos you not only free up space for more use full stuff but you also make your gallery look more organized.

WHY ARE THERE SOME ALBUMS ON IPHONE THAT CAN’T BE DELETED?

Some photo albums just can’t be deleted and they include your iPhone’s camera roll, people and place albums, favorites, etc.

Why can’t they be deleted? because they are inbuilt albums of your iPhone, they are not created by you or by some third-party app, it is just an inbuilt album, that’s why you can’t delete it.

PARTING WORDS

This was how to delete albums on iPhone, it should be noted that no matter which IOS you are using the process of deleting albums on iPhone will identically be the same.

Now you can delete those unwanted albums and make space for some really useful ones.

Read Also:

How To Wash Hey Dudes – Full Guidance

avatar

About The Author

He is a passionate blogger with years of experience in Seach Engine Optimization (SEO). He loves to show his creativity through his writings and also keeps motivating people. Besides, people also call him an SEO expert because he has grabbed detailed knowledge regarding the same field.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.